De Ocultura
Revisão de 08h28min de 28 de abril de 2008 por Dyulax (discussão | contribs) (Nova página: {{tradução}} '''Siddhi''' (Sanskrit:सिद्धिः; siddhiḥ) is a Sanskrit word that literally means "accomplishment", "attainment", or "success".[1] It is also used as a t...)
(dif) ← Edição anterior | Revisão atual (dif) | Versão posterior → (dif)
Ir para navegação Ir para pesquisar
Merriam Websters Dictionary.jpg Este artigo encontra-se parcialmente em língua estrangeira.
Ajude e colabore com a tradução.

Siddhi (Sanskrit:सिद्धिः; siddhiḥ) is a Sanskrit word that literally means "accomplishment", "attainment", or "success".[1] It is also used as a term for spiritual power (or psychic ability). The term is used in that sense in Hinduism and Tantric Buddhism. These spiritual powers supposedly vary from relatively simple forms of clairvoyance to being able to levitate, to be present at various places at once, to become as small as an atom, to materialize objects, to have access to memories from past lives, and more.

There are many perspectives of attaining Siddhis. One school of thought states that they are a normal set of occurrences that should not be focused upon because they will pull one from the path. Other perspectives hold that each siddhi should be pursued because it will allow one to understand the power of the Godhead. Siddhis may occur in many ways: naturally though the agency of karma, as a result of extended practice (sadhana), through rigorous austerities (tapasya) or by grace. They are often mentioned in conjunction with Riddhi (pl Riddhis), which means material or worldly wealth, power, luxurious lifestyles, etc.

Nine main Siddhis

  • Parkaya Pravesha: Parkaya Pravesh means one’s soul entering into the body of some other person. Through this knowledge even a dead body can be brought to life.
  • Haadi Vidya: This Vidya or knowledge has been mentioned in several ancient texts. On acquiring this Vidya, a person feels neither hunger nor thirst, and can remain without eating food or drinking water for several days at a stretch.
  • Kaadi Vidya: Just as one does not feel hungry or thirsty in Haadi Vidya, similarly in Kaadi Vidya a person is not affected by change of seasons, i.e. by summer, winter, rain, etc. After accomplishing this Vidya, a person shall not feel cold even if he sits in the snow-laden mountains, and shall not feel hot even if he sits in the fire.
  • Vayu Gaman Siddhi: Through this Siddhi a person can become capable of flying in the skies and traveling from one place to another in just a few seconds.
  • Madalasa Vidya: On accomplishing this Vidya, a person becomes capable of increasing or decreasing the size of his body according to his wish. Lord Hanuman had miniaturized his body through this Vidya while entering the city of Lanka.
  • Kanakdhara Siddhi: One can acquire immense and unlimited wealth through this Siddhi.
  • Prakya Sadhana: Through this Sadhana a Yogi can direct his disciple to take birth from the womb of a woman who is childless or cannot bear children.
  • Surya Vigyan: This solar science is one of the most significant sciences of ancient India. This science has been known only to the Indian Yogis; using it, one substance can be transformed into another through the medium of sun rays.
  • Mrit Sanjeevani Vidya: This Vidya was created by Guru Shukracharya. Through it, even a dead person can be brought back to life.

Eight Primary Siddhis

Mahabharata Version

There is the concept of the Ashta Siddhi (eight siddhis) in Hinduism. These are:

  • Aṇimā: reducing one's body even to the size of an atom
  • Mahimā: expanding one's body to an infinitely large size
  • Garima: becoming infinitely heavy
  • Laghimā: becoming almost weightless
  • Prāpti: having unrestricted access to all places
  • Prākāmya: realizing whatever one desires
  • Iṣṭva: possessing absolute lordship;
  • Vaśtva: the power to subjugate all.

In Hinduism, Hanuman possesses the ability to bestow the eight siddhis and the nava nidhi (nine types of wealth).

Ten Secondary Siddhis

In the Srimad Bhagavatam Lord Krishna describes the Ten Secondary Siddhis as:

  • anūrmi-mattvam: Being undisturbed by hunger, thirst, and other bodily disturbances
  • dūra-śravaṇa: Hearing things far away
  • dūra-darśanam: Seeing things far away
  • manaḥ-javah: Moving the body wherever thought goes (teleportation)
  • kāma-rūpam: Assuming any form desired
  • para-kāya praveśanam: Entering the bodies of others
  • sva-chanda mṛtyuh: Dying when one desires
  • devānām saha krīḍā anudarśanam: Witnessing and participating in the pastimes of the Apsaras
  • yathā sańkalpa saḿsiddhiḥ: Perfect accomplishment of one's determination
  • ājñā apratihatā gatiḥ: Orders or Commands being unimpeded

Five Siddhis of Yoga and Meditation

In the Srimad Bhagavatam the Five Siddhis of Yoga and Meditation are described as:

  • tri-kāla-jñatvam: Knowing the past, present and future;
  • advandvam: Tolerance of heat, cold and other dualities;
  • para citta ādi abhijñatā: Knowing the minds of others and so on;
  • agni arka ambu viṣa ādīnām pratiṣṭambhaḥ: Checking the influence of fire, sun, water, poison, and so on;
  • aparājayah: Remaining unconquered by others;

Obtaining Siddhis

Siddhi powers are said to be obtainable by meditation, control of the senses, devotion, herbs, mantras, pranayama, or good birth.

A detailed instruction for obtaining various Siddhis is given in the Vibhuti Pada (the 3rd Chapter) of the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. The mastery of specific Siddhis is attained through properly aimed Samyama.

Lord Krishna states that:

"For a sage who has conquered his senses, breathing and mind, who is self-controlled and always absorbed in meditation on Me, what mystic perfection could possibly be difficult to achieve?"

Seeking siddhi powers is often discouraged and considered to be an impediment to spiritual advancement. J Krishnamurti warned about siddhis in the context of meditation, comparing seeking the siddhis of maya to desiring mere candles; instead seek the Sun of full Enlightenment and Liberation ~ Moksha.